Wagner Scores Win in Front of Hometown Crowd

By Mike Spieker

ADA, Minn. (May 18, 2017) – Norman County Raceway was back in action last week as Dakota Cat presented Thursday Night Thunder. Tyler Peterson, Andy Wagner, and Aaron Olson won in Speedway Motors IMCA Weekly Racing action, while Justin Froemming claimed the lone WISSOTA PolyDome Dirt Track Series checkered flag.

Andy Wagner picked up his first Titan Machinery IMCA Sport Mod win of 2017 after starting fourth on the starting grid. The Ada driver raced three wide with Aaron Wetterlin and Kelly Jacobson for the lead in the early going and filed into second behind Wetterlin.

At the halfway point, Wagner drove around the outside of Wetterlin to take the point. A restart with five to go set up another three wide battle for the lead between Wagner, Wetterlin, and Luke Johnson.

Johnson took the second spot from Wetterlin before setting his sights on Wagner. Wagner was just too strong in his No. 3x machine as he went on to take the win.

Perhaps the most intense race of the evening was had in the Sanders Metal Products IMCA Modifieds.

Fertile’s Tyler Hall jumped out to the early lead after starting on the pole as Tyler Peterson rode in second. On the opening lap, Austin Arneson got sideways in the middle of turns one and two and lost several positions.

Back up front, Hall and Peterson put on a great battle for the lead after the lap eight restart. The two young guns traded the lead back and forth for five consecutive circuits before Peterson gained sole possession of the point with seven laps to go.

In the closing laps, Arneson, who had rallied his way back up to second, had chased down Peterson and was looking for the lead. On the final lap, Arneson drove his car deep into turn one and made contact with Peterson. Peterson was able to maintain control of his No. 1TPO Black Widow machine and take the checkered flag for his 12th career NCR victory.

Tim Estenson scored his third consecutive victory in the Seedex INEX Legends, while Aaron Olson went back-to-back in the Norman County Implement IMCA Stock Cars.

The Christian Motors Midwest Modifieds were 16 cars strong for their main event, which was led to the green by Reise Stenberg and Lucas Rodin. Rodin grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag as Dylan Goplen slid into second.

By lap two, fifth place starter, Justin Froemming moved into the runner-up spot and chased Rodin for the lead. At the halfway point, Froemming secured the lead by using the outside lane to get by Rodin. Rodin battled back, but didn’t quite have enough to race past Froemming as the Garfield driver scored his second career win at NCR.

Norman County Raceway will be off next Thursday, but its sister track, Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo, N.D. will be in action both Thursday and Friday night for the Dakota Cat 100.


IMCA Modifieds
A Feature 1: 1. 1TPO-Tyler Peterson[3]; 2. 10-Austin Ameson[7]; 3. 60-TYLER HALL[1]; 4. 99-Cale Arneson[4]; 5. 17-Michael Greseth[12]; 6. 9-William Kendall[8]; 7. 4D-Rob VanMil[5]; 8. 4V-Billy Vogel[10]; 9. 19-Lucas Rodin[11]; 10. 84-Michael Johnson[6]; 11. 21-Dev Malmlov[14]; 12. 30-Adam Fischer[13]; 13. 7B-Bryton Foss[15]; 14. K9-Tom Cummings[17]; 15. (DNF) 88B-Brady Petermann[2]; 16. (DNF) 7-Dale Kraling[9]; (DNS) 22B-Josh Beaulieu

Heat 1: 1. 99-Cale Arneson[3]; 2. 88B-Brady Petermann[2]; 3. 10-Austin Ameson[5]; 4. 9-William Kendall[6]; 5. 4V-Billy Vogel[8]; 6. 19-Lucas Rodin[4]; 7. 30-Adam Fischer[9]; 8. 7B-Bryton Foss[7]; 9. K9-Tom Cummings[1]

Heat 2: 1. 1TPO-Tyler Peterson[2]; 2. 60-TYLER HALL[1]; 3. 84-Michael Johnson[4]; 4. 4D-Rob VanMil[3]; 5. 7-Dale Kraling[6]; 6. 17-Michael Greseth[7]; 7. 21-Dev Malmlov[5]; 8. (DNF) 22B-Josh Beaulieu[8]

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
A Feature 1: 1. 33X-Justin Froemming[5]; 2. 19-Lucas Rodin[2]; 3. 6D-Dylan Goplen[4]; 4. 6Z-Zach Dockter[7]; 5. 50H-Haley Lee[6]; 6. 2S-Matt Schow[8]; 7. 87S-Reise Stenberg[1]; 8. 11*-Larry Samuelson[9]; 9. 7T-Joseph Thomas[3]; 10. 50C-Cody Lee[14]; 11. 5-Aaron Blacklance[11]; 12. 97-Grady Shearer[15]; 13. 188-Hunter Hougard[12]; 14. 28S-Ryan Schow[13]; 15. 6-Dean Eggebraaten[10]; (DNS) 19D-Noah Metzger

Heat 1: 1. 33X-Justin Froemming[2]; 2. 6Z-Zach Dockter[1]; 3. 2S-Matt Schow[3]; 4. 19-Lucas Rodin[5]; 5. 11*-Larry Samuelson[7]; 6. 5-Aaron Blacklance[4]; 7. 28S-Ryan Schow[8]; 8. (DNF) 19D-Noah Metzger[6]

Heat 2: 1. 50H-Haley Lee[1]; 2. 6D-Dylan Goplen[3]; 3. 7T-Joseph Thomas[4]; 4. 87S-Reise Stenberg[2]; 5. 6-Dean Eggebraaten[7]; 6. 188-Hunter Hougard[6]; 7. 50C-Cody Lee[5]; 8. 97-Grady Shearer[8]

IMCA Sport Mods:
A Feature 1: 1. 3X-Andy Wagner[4]; 2. 8J-Luke Johnson[5]; 3. 3S-Jesse Skalicky[3]; 4. 3W-Aaron Wetterlin[1]; 5. 51-Kelly Jacobson[2]; 6. (DNF) 22-Vince Jegtvig[6]; 7. (DNF) 5T-Matt Talley[7]; 8. (DNF) 1RM-Taylor Grove[8]

Heat 1: 1. 3W-Aaron Wetterlin[1]; 2. 3X-Andy Wagner[6]; 3. 51-Kelly Jacobson[4]; 4. 3S-Jesse Skalicky[5]; 5. 8J-Luke Johnson[7]; 6. 22-Vince Jegtvig[2]; 7. 5T-Matt Talley[8]; 8. (DNF) 1RM-Taylor Grove[3]

INEX Legends
A Feature 1: 1. 14T-Tim Estenson[5]; 2. 00-Baiden Heskett[4]; 3. 60-Drew Papke[8]; 4. 99-Dauntae Martin[1]; 5. 77-Preston Martin[11]; 6. 8JR-Kaitlyn Skalicky[7]; 7. 5-Dean Julsrud[2]; 8. 69-Brian Hanson[9]; 9. D1RT-Tony Brockhouse[16]; 10. 18-Joshua Julsrud[6]; 11. 72-Tye Wilke[13]; 12. 20-Alex Braseth[15]; 13. 29-Ryan Braseth[12]; 14. 9-Jerret Julsrud[3]; 15. B1-Brody Carlsrud[14]; 16. (DNF) 79-Scott Richardson[10]

Heat 1: 1. 5-Dean Julsrud[2]; 2. 79-Scott Richardson[4]; 3. 60-Drew Papke[5]; 4. 9-Jerret Julsrud[1]; 5. 99-Dauntae Martin[6]; 6. 77-Preston Martin[8]; 7. 29-Ryan Braseth[3]; 8. B1-Brody Carlsrud[7]

Heat 2: 1. 00-Baiden Heskett[1]; 2. 14T-Tim Estenson[5]; 3. 18-Joshua Julsrud[6]; 4. 69-Brian Hanson[3]; 5. 8JR-Kaitlyn Skalicky[7]; 6. D1RT-Tony Brockhouse[8]; 7. 72-Tye Wilke[4]; 8. 20-Alex Braseth[2]

IMCA Stock Cars:
A Feature 1: 1. 14-Aaron Olson[4]; 2. 4-Rick Schulz[1]; 3. 1-Kelly Jacobson[3]; 4. 40-Corry VanMil[2]; 5. (DNF) 44-Kary Larson[6]; 6. (DNF) 76Z-John Sandvig[5]

Heat 1: 1. 14-Aaron Olson[4]; 2. 40-Corry VanMil[2]; 3. 4-Rick Schulz[1]; 4. 1-Kelly Jacobson[3]; 5. 76Z-John Sandvig[6]; 6. (DNF) 44-Kary Larson[5]

Permanent link to this article: http://www.ncraceway.com/wagner-scores-win-in-front-of-hometown-crowd/