Tommerdahl & Robertson Pick Up First Career Victories.

Print Friendly
Share Button

Tommerdahl and Robertson among First-Time Winners at NCR

By Mike Spieker
All The Dirt Racing News
ADA, MN (July 3) – Seventy-six race teams were signed in for another night of Thursday Night Thunder presented by KRJB/KRJM at Norman County Raceway. Travis Robertson, Dale Kraling, and Corry VanMil took the WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series checkered flags, while Michael Johnson and Tailin Tommerdahl were victorious in IMCA action.

Travis Robertson, first-time Street Stock winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Travis Robertson, first-time Street Stock winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Travis Robertson, the rookie WISSOTA Street Stock driver from Moorhead, MN, led all 16 laps en route to his first career victory. It was a battle from green to checkers, though. Robertson and Rick Schulz led the field of 14 to the green flag and immediately went head to head for the race lead. Robertson came around to lead the opening lap by a few feet, but then Ryan Satter drove his #67 into the picture. Satter, Schulz, and Robertson raced three wide down the back straightaway, but once again, Robertson prevailed to hold on to the lead. On lap five, Robertson had one more major challenge as Schulz and Satter came charging and drivers raced three wide for the lead. Robertson rode the top side of the track with Satter running at the bottom and Schulz stuck in the middle. Just as he did a couple laps earlier, Robertson was able maintain the top spot. From there, it was smooth sailing for the Graphic Creations #10R as he drove on for the feature win. Jonny Carter finished in second, as Adam Burrows, Ryan Pommerer and Rick Schulz rounded out the top five.
“I knew if I was able to beat Schulz on the start and get the high line from him, that I would have a pretty good shot,” said Robertson in a post-race interview with KRJB’s Shawn Bjerk. “My dad has done so much to get this car to run and my pit guys, Billy and Seth, do so much too, so I have to thank all my pit guys for this one.”
The other driver who picked up her first career win was the young lady from Dilworth, MN, Tailin Tommerdahl. Tommerdahl, who made a rare appearance to NCR, started outside of the front row and took the lead from the get go. She had opened up a healthy lead by the halfway point of the race, but the pack started closing in once the laps began to wind down. Tommerdahl would not be denied, however, as she held off the field of veteran drivers and took home the win by a tenth-and-a-half of a second. Chris VanMil and Rich Pavlicek rounded out the top three finishers.

Dale Kraling, Midwest Modified winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Dale Kraling, Midwest Modified winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Jamie Winterquist narrowly led the opening lap of the Northwest Truck & Trailer of Fargo WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature over Dale Kraling and Gannon Miller. Winterquist held the lead until the lap five caution, which was for him. Going into turn three, Winterquist pushed the envelope a little too much and slid off banking which brought out the yellow flag. Rob VanMil then inherited the lead and led Kraling as the race resumed. VanMil, who already has two Midwest Modified wins at NCR, was looking to cruise to his third of the year, but wouldn’t shake the Pit Stop Bar & Grill #7K of Kraling. VanMil ran right in the middle of the turns, while Kraling ran one groove lower and seemed to have the faster car, but couldn’t find a way past. Then with four laps to go, Kraling had reeled in VanMil and was right on his rear bumper and they headed into turn one. Kraling dove underneath of VanMil’s #4D, was able to keep his momentum and complete the pass down the back straightaway. Once Kraling was clear, he checked out from the field and took his first Midwest Modified feature win at NCR. Kraling’s only other NCR victory came in 2011 in a WISSOTA Modified.
Aaron Wetterlin and Corry VanMil paced the field of WISSOTA Mod Fours to the green flag for the 12 lap feature. VanMil got the jump and led the opening lap over Bryce Bjerken and Wetterlin. VanMil never relinquished the lead throughout the duration of the race and went on to take his 12th career Mod Four victory at NCR which puts him in front of NCR assistant flag man, Matt Greseth, for 10th on the all-time wins list.
Michael Johnson steered his Norman County Raceway, Performance Auto sponsored #84 IMCA Modified to KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane. Johnson took the lead from Billy Vogel on lap six and then held off Jason Strand to be the second driver to put his name on the IMCA Modified wins list at NCR.
Kelly Jacobson’s successful season continued as he brought home his third NCR feature win in the Pure Stocks.

Next week will feature the NOSA 410 Sprint Cars presented by Johnson’s Spray Service.

Michael Johnson, IMCA Modified winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Michael Johnson, IMCA Modified winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Corry VanMil, Mod Four winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.

Corry VanMil, Mod Four winner. Photo by Mike Spieker.









WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
Feature – Dale Kraling, Rob VanMil, Gannon Miller, Skyler Smith, Tyler Peterson, Bill Yonke, Greg Freistad, Lucas Rodin, Tyler Hall, Rich Pavlicek, Alex Well, Noah Metzger, Andy Wagner, Travis Traut, Ryan Romas
Heat 1 – Smith, Hall, Miller, Winterquist, Roman, Traut, Rodin, Wagner
Heat 2 – VanMil, Peterson, Freistad, Kraling, Pavlicek, Yonke, Well, Metzger
WISSOTA Mod Fours:
Feature – Corry VanMil, Bryce Bjerken, Rob VanMil, Tommy McGough, Luke Johnson, Aaron Wetterlin, Jim Erdmann, Brandon Ferris, Joey Brown
Heat – Bjerken, R. VanMil, Erdmann, C. VanMil, Wetterlin, McGough, Johnson, Ferris, Brown
WISSOTA Street Stocks:
Feature – Travis Robertson, Jonny Carter, Adam Burrows, Ryan Pommerer, Rick Schulz, Jim Geringer, Ryan Satter, James Tandeski, Aaron Blacklance, Cory Dykhoff, Bill Maruca, Devin Spears, John Sandvig, Kyle Dykhoff
Heat 1 – Pommerer, Satter, Tandeski, Robertson, Carter, C. Dykhoff, Maruca
Heat 2 – Burrows, Schulz, Geringer, Blacklance, K. Dykhoff, Spears, Sandvig
IMCA Modifieds:
Feature – Michael Johnson, Jason Strand, Michael Greseth, Justin Jones, Thomas Silver, Bryce Borgen, Billy Vogel, Brent Pulskamp, Jerome Guyot, Tyler Hall, Dustin Wahl, Tanner Olson, Derek Vesledahl, David Goulet, Larry Niemi, Jake Bitker, Tyler Peterson
Heat 1 – Borgen, Jones, Vogel, Greseth, Pulskamp, Guyot, Niemi, Bitker, Vesledahl
Heat 2 – Strand, Johnson, Silver, Peterson, Wahl, Hall, Goulet, Olson
IMCA Sport Mods:
Feature – Tailin Tommerdahl, Chris VanMil, Rich Pavlicek, Jesse Skalicky, Cody Pederson, Steve Pavlicek, Robert Bladow, Rob Plath, Kristine Berg
Heat – R. Pavlicek, Skalicky, VanMil, Tommerdahl, Bladow, Peterson, S. Pavlicek, Plath, Berg
Pure Stocks:
Feature – Kelly Jacobson, Wade Moerke, Ken Crane, Tim Shiek, Doug Gardner, Kristen Nelson, Vince Jegtvig, Taylor Saari, Cody Fuller, Mark Salzwedel, Mike Bjorgan, Paul Colvin
Heat 1 – Crane, Moerke, Colvin, Nelson, Fuller, Bjorgan
Heat 2 – Jegtvig, Gardner, Jacobson, Shiek, Saari, Salzwedel


Category: News, News - Featured, News - Headlines · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

(Click HERE to download and print)


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]