Skytland Wins School Night

Print Friendly
Share Button

Skytland, Saurer, Johnson, Tandeski & Lundon Win at NCR

By Mike Spieker

ADA, MN (August 1)- The pits were packed with 71 race cars for Norman County Raceway’s annual School Night. Cody Skytland, Travis Saurer, Luke Johnson, and James Tandeski were victorious in AMSOIL Dirt Track Series competition. Dean Lundon claimed the hardware in the Pure Stocks.

It had been quite a few weeks since the defending Midwest Modified and Modified track champion Travis Saurer made an appearance at NCR, but that didn’t seem to matter much in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature. Saurer started in the ninth position and cruised his way through a field of some the best WISSOTA drivers in the country to take the victory. Rich Pavlicek scored a second place finish, Tyler Hall was third.

After missing last week’s feature because of a broken transmission, and falling from second in the points standing to fourth, Jason Strand was on a mission and drove his North Dakota Corn Growers #E85 and came from 18th to fourth in the 20 lap feature.

James Tandeski visited KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane for the second week in a row in the WISSOTA Street Stocks. The Christine, ND driver swept the night by winning the heat race, Rick Schulz, Aaron Blacklance, Durand Peterson, Ryan Pommerer, and Jim Geringer rounded out the pack.

Luke Johnson also took his second WISSOTA Mod Four checkered flag in as many weeks. Troy Kuehl, Aaron Wetterlin, Rob VanMil, and Jim Erdmann finished in the top five. Johnson extended his ever so thin lead in the points standings from one point to three points over Aaron Wetterlin. Rob VanMil is lurking right behind both just four points back of Johnson.

Dean Lundon won the Pure Stock main event. Kelly Jacobson gave him a good battle for the win, but came up one spot short.

Jamie Trautner and Travis Saurer sat on the front row of the 23 car, 25 lap WISSOTA Modified feature, but the battle for the win came down to Cody Skytland and Jason Grimes. Grimes, winner of this year’s Performance Auto Modified Nationals at Viking Speedway in Alexandria, MN, made a rare visit to NCR and nearly came away with the win. Skytland was able to hold off the Jamestown, ND pilot and collect his first win at NCR since winner the season opener back on May 23.



WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature- Cody Skytland, Jason Grimes, Travis Saurer, Michael Greseth, Blake Jegtvig, Justin Jones, Rick Jacobson, Paul Engelstad, Alex Engelstad, Ward Imrie, Bryce Borgen, Michael Johnson, Jerome Guyot, Casey Arneson, Jordan Wahl, Jerry Lamb, Tim Thomas, Jake Bitker, Kyle Brown, Tanner Olson, Corky Thomas, Dale Kraling

Heat 1- Lamb, Jones, Jacobson, Johnson, C. Thomas, Wahl, Bitker, Guyot

Heat 2- J. Trautner, Grimes, Brown, Greseth, C. Arneson, T. Thomas, Olson, Kraling

Heat 3- Skytland, Saurer, Borgen, A. Engelstad, Jegtvig, P. Engelstad, Imrie

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature- James Tandeski, Rick Schulz, Aaron Blacklance, Durand Peterson, Ryan Pommerer, Jim Geringer

Heat- Tandeski, Pommerer, Schulz, Peterson, Blacklance, Geringer

WISSOTA Mod Fours:

Feature- Luke Johnson, Troy Kuehl, Aaron Wetterlin, Rob VanMil, Jim Erdmann, Corry VanMil, Bryce Bjerken, Derek Vesledahl, Payton Gordon, Craig Moore, Tom Cummings

Heat 1- Bjerken, Kuehl, Vesledahl, Erdmann, Gordon, Cummings

Heat 2- R. VanMil, C. VanMil, Wetterlin, Johnson, Moore

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature- Travis Saurer, Rich Pavlicek, Tyler Hall, Jason Strand, Tyler Peterson, Rob VanMil, Dustin Wahl, James Wall, Lon Vettleson, Gannon Miller, Jamie Winterquist, Scott Bintz, Casey Arneson, Nate Reinke, Aaron Vigness, Noah Metzger, Andy Wagner, Christopher Christian, Randy Kollman

Heat 1- Hall, Bintz, Peterson, Kollman, Miller, Vigness, Metzger

Heat 2- Pavlicek, Wall, VanMil, Wahl, Vettleson, Strand

Heat 3- Saurer, Arneson, Winterquist, C. Christian, Reinke, Wagner

Pure Stocks:

Feature- Dean Lundon, Kelly Jacobson, Ken Crane, Shane Steinhaus, Michael Leroux, Jeremy MacAdams, Wade Moerke, Robert Bladow, Paul Colvin, Mike Bjorgan, Nick Pederson

Heat 1- Crane, Pearson, Steinhaus, Colvin, MacAdams, Pederson

Heat 2- Lundon, Jacobson, Moerke, Leroux, Bjorgan, Bladow

Category: News, News - Featured · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]