Seng, Arneson, Kuehl, Petermann & Saari Win on Titan Machinery & 4 Corners Constuction Night

Print Friendly
Share Button

Schatz Slips & Seng Steals Late Model Special at Norman County Raceway

By Mike Spieker

Casey Arneson, Midwest Modified winner

Casey Arneson, Midwest Modified winner

ADA, MN (July 18)- A great crowd of diehard race fans withstood the brutally hot and humid temperatures Thursday night for the second NLRA/WISSOTA Late Model and WISSOTA Mod Four specials, presented by Titan Machinery and 4 Corners Construction.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified 20 lap feature kicked off Amsoil Dirt Track Series action. Andy Wagner of Ada, MN led the field to the green from the pole, but Jamie Winterquist grabbed the lead in the first corner from the second starting spot. Rich Pavilcek took the lead on the very next lap and held it until Casey Arneson made a pass on him on the low side of turns three and four, taking over the position just passed halfway. During the second half of the race, Arneson had built up a healthy lead, but a caution on the white flag lap erased his commanding lead and put the very fast Jason Strand right on the rear bumper of the U-Motors #2A for a green-white-checkered finish. Arneson got a good jump on the restart which almost sealed the deal for him in the two lap dash. As they came into turn three for the final time, Strand drove the car as deep into the corner as he could, but came up short and Arneson took the victory on his 19th birthday.

Troy Kuehl, Mod Four winner

Troy Kuehl, Mod Four winner

Troy Kuehl came into NCR’s WISSOTA Mod Four special riding some momentum after capturing the feature when at Buffalo River Race Park in Glyndon, MN on July 14. Kuehl started on the pole of the 20 lap, $600-to-win main event and led every single lap, picking up his second win in a row and first at NCR since 2011. Aaron Wetterlin finished a distant second, followed by Kyle Thell, Rob VanMil who came from dead last (15th) to fourth, with Corry VanMil rounding out the top five.

Brady Petermann and Jesse Skalicky put on a fantastic show in the last five laps of the Legends feature. The drivers swapped the lead multiple times in the final laps and when it was all settled, Petermann edged out Skalicky and took the win. Brian Petermann was third, with Dean Julsrud fourth and Casey Henriksen fifth. Petermann also won the 2012 Legends race at NCR.

Mapleton, ND driver Taylor Saari picked up her first career Pure Stock feature at NCR. The young lady had to hold off pole sitter Wade Moerke for the win.

21 Late Models made up the starting lineup for the 30 lap feature. Five-time World of Outlaw STP Sprint Car Series champion, Donny Schatz started on the pole and had the 2012 NLRA Late Model Series champion, Brad Seng right beside him. Once the green flag flew, Schatz took off and quickly pulled out to comfortable lead. By lap eight, the Fargo, ND driver had a full straightaway advantage over second place, Seng. With two circuits remaining, Schatz looked like he had his second victory of the year at NCR all locked up, until he went low into turn three to put a lap on the seventh place running machine. Schatz pulled up alongside of Steven Grabow and as they went into the corner, the two made contact which resulted in Grabow losing control and spinning, bringing out the caution flag. It was

Brad Seng, Late Model winner

Brad Seng, Late Model winner

determined that the cause of the incident was on Donny Schatz which by rule, sent him behind of all the cars that were still on the lead lap. Therefore, Brad Seng inherited the lead for the final restart and had the current WISSOTA Late Model national point leader, Dustin Strand right on his heels. Seng was able to hold off Strand, and Zach Johnson to the finish, giving him his second win at NCR in as many years. Donny Schatz finished in the ninth position.

“I thought the track was pretty good. I could move around a little bit, I thought (Schatz) was a little more committed to the bottom,” said Seng. “I was hoping we would get into some lapped traffic and he would get bottled up, but that didn’t quite happen.

“I think everyone knows who had the best car tonight; Donny did, and it’s unfortunate what happened there, but Donny does this (Late Model racing) for the good of the sport and I guarantee you he doesn’t like to lose, but he had the best car.”

The WISSOTA Race of Champions is up next at Norman County Raceway on Thursday, July 25. As always, the green flag drops at 7:00pm.


WISSOTA Late Models:

Feature- Brad Seng, Dustin Strand, Zach Johnson, Bill Mooeny, Joey Pederson, Jeremy Keller, Tom Corcoran, Steven Grabow, Donny Schatz, Brian Bernotas, Michael Johnson, Jason Grabow, Steve Anderson, Billy Michaelsohn, Norman Olson, Cary Eilers, Jake Bitker, Mike Balcaen, Dewayne Rector, Josh Johnson, Cole Schill

Heat 1- Schatz, Corcoran, Anderson, Mooney, J. Grabow, Balcaen, Schill

Heat 2- Strand, Pederson, Bernotas, S. Grabow, Olson, Keller, Bitker

Heat 3- Seng, Z. Johnson, M. Johnson, J. Johnson, Michaelsohn, Eilers

WISSOTA Mod Fours:       

Feature- Troy Kuehl, Aaron Wetterlin, Kyle Thell, Rob VanMil, Corry VanMil, Dustin Zieske, Dean Larson, Bryce Bjerken, Luke Johnson, Jim Erdmann, Derek Vesledahl, Payton Gordon, Craig Moore, Allison Petermann, Tom Cummings

Heat 1- Johnson, C. VanMil, Thell, Bjerken, Moore, Petermann, Cummings, R. VanMil

Heat 2- Zieske, Wetterlin, Kuehl, Larson, Erdmann, Vesledahl, Gordon

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature- Casey Arneson, Jason Strand, Christopher Christian, Rich Pavlicek, Tyler Peterson, Jamie Winterquist, Brian Krog, Andy Wagner, Tailin Tommerdahl, Jordan Zillmer, Allison Christian, Alex Well, Tyler Hall, Rob VanMil, Randy Kollman

Heat 1- C. Christian, Winterquist, Strand, Kollman, Zillmer, Tommerdahl, Well, VanMil

Heat 2- Arneson, Peterson, Pavlicek, Wagner, Hall, Krog, Christian


Feature- Brady Petermann, Jesse Skalicky, Brian Petermann, Dean Julsrud, Casey Henriksen, Mason Remund, Mariah Henriksen, Zach Osbjorson, Kaitlyn Skalicky, Brandon Erickson, Reile Sailer, Dan Bullis

Heat 1- J. Skalicky, Julsrud, C. Hendriksen, Bullis, Sailer, Remund

Heat 2- Bra. Peteramann, Bri. Petermann, M. Henriksen, K. Skalicky, Osbjorson, Erickson

Pure Stocks:

Feature- Taylor Saari, Wade Moerke, Luke Balstad, Jeremy MacAdams, Paul Colvin, Robert Bladow

Heat- MacAdams, Moerke, Colvin, Saari, Balstad, Bladow


Category: News, News - Featured · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]