Peterson Claims KRJB/KRJM Night Victory

Print Friendly
Share Button

Jegtvig, Peterson, C. VanMil, & Burrows Take KRJB/KRJM Night at NCR

By Mike Spieker

Tyler Peterson in KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane for the first time this season at NCR.

Tyler Peterson in KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane for the first time this season at NCR.

ADA, MN (June 13)- A season high 71 cars were signed in to battle on the high banks of Norman County Raceway on night number three of Thursday Thunder, presented by KRJB/KRJM. Contrary to last week’s rough, fast racing surface, the 3/8th mile dirt track was smooth and dry slick with a tacky strip of dirt along the top side that drivers used to their advantage all night long.

The 15 lap TDS Trucking WISSOTA Street Stocks feature got kicked off with Mike Anderson grabbing the lead from the outside of the front row with defending race winner, Adam Burrows right behind. By the time the field came around to pass by the flag stand for the first time, Burrows had made his way around Anderson to lead the first lap after starting in third. The biggest incident of the evening occurred with six laps to go when Jonny Carter and Aaron Blacklance made contact in turn two causing Blacklance to get sideways and collect Rick Schulz, Jim Geringer, and James Tandeski in the process. On the restart, Burrows was able to hold off Carter and take his second checkered flag in a row in dominating fashion. Carter finished in the runner up position, followed by Ryan Pommerer, Rick Schulz, and Mike Anderson rounding out the top five.

Corry VanMil and Jim Erdmann started on the front row of the Finley Motors WISSOTA Mod Four main event. VanMil jumped out to the point with Aaron Wetterlin and Troy Kuehl in tow. By lap six, the 2012 NCR Mod Four track champion, Rob VanMil had cruised through the pack and slid past Wetterlin for second. It was already too late by then however, as Corry VanMil already had about a 15 car length advantage over his son, Rob, and captured his first NCR winner’s plague of the season.

Blake Jegtvig led all 20 laps in the Christian Brother’s Ford WISSOTA Modified feature. He started outside of Michael Greseth on the front row, took the lead on the first lap in turn one and never looked back. Mark Trautner came home with a strong finish in second. The season opener victor, Cody Skytland drove to third from ninth, with Bryce Borgen and Greseth following in fourth and fifth.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified A-main got rolling with Tyler Peterson, Casey Arneson, Rich Pavlicek, and Eric Haugland battling four wide for second off turn two on the opening lap. Peterson grabbed the spot and immediately set his sights on the leader Matt Schow. Schow was running up on the cushion, but Peterson ran in the middle of the track, and was closing in. Peterson was right on the bumper of Schow’s #2S by lap four, and on the following lap he put a slide job coming off of turn four and stole the lead. The race was far from over, however. With nine laps to go, Casey Arneson and Travis Saurer had closed in on Peterson and were challenging for the lead. The top three were within five car lengths of each other until Saurer drops his right rear tire off the track and lost some ground. It became a two horse race after that as two young guns battled for the checkered flag. Arneson was right behind Peterson, ready to capitalize on any mistake he might make, but Peterson was perfect in the final laps and drove his Iron Skillet sponsered #1TPO into KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane.

“I was getting nervous,” said Peterson following his win. “I saw Travis Saurer on the bottom one lap and saw on the scoreboard that Duece (Casey Arneson) was behind me, but I never saw him so I knew they were back there.”

Peterson’s win was his second WISSOTA Amsoil Dirt Track Series victory of the season.


WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature- Blake Jegtvig, Mark Trautner, Cody Skytland, Bryce Borgen, Michael Greseth, Dale Kraling, Alex Engelstad, Jamie Trautner, Austin Arneson, Travis Saurer, Paul Engelstad, Jeremy Olson, Scott Jacobson, Michael Johnson, Aaron Olson, Justin Jones, Jake Bitker

Heat 1- Skytland, Jones, Kraling, P. Engelstad, Johnson, Jacobson

Heat 2- Jegtvig, Borgen, Greseth, Olson, Nelson, A. Engelstad

Heat 3- Arneson, Saurer, M. Trautner, J. Trautner, Bitker

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature- Tyler Peterson, Casey Arneson, Travis Saurer, Rich Pavlicek, Rob VanMil, Matt Schow, Randy Klein, Eric Haugland, Cole Haugland, Andy Wagner, Gannon Miller, Jamie Winterquist, Tyler Hall, Allison Christian, Ben Purrington, Darin Smith, Jason Strand, Christopher Christian, Tailin Tommerdahl, Aaron Vigness, Brian Krog

Heat 1- Arneson, C. Haugland, Schow, Wagner, Tommerdahl, Purrington, Hall

Heat 2- E. Haugland, Klein, Pavlicek, VanMil, Winterquist, Vigness, Krog

Heat 3- Saurer, Peterson, Strand, C. Christian, Miller, Smith, A. Christian

WISSOTA Mod Fours:

Feature- Corry VanMil, Troy Kuehl, Rob VanMil, Luke Johnson, Derek Vesledahl, Payton Gordon, Allison Petermann, Aaron Wetterlin, Jim Erdmann, Bryce Bjerken

Heat 1- C. VanMil, R. VanMil, Erdmann, Erdmann, Kuehl, Bjerken

Heat 2- Johnson, Wetterlin, Vesledahl, Petermann, Gordon

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature- Adam Burrows, Jonny Carter, Ryan Pommerer, Rick Schulz, Mike Anderson, Jim Geringer, James Tandeski, Durand Peterson, Jason Dunbar, Aaron Blacklance, Hunter Carter, Maria Konold

Heat 1- Tandeski, Burrows, Blacklance, Peterson, H. Carter, J. Carter

Heat 2- Pommerer, Anderson, Dunbar, Konold, Schulz, Geringer

NCR Trophy Class:

Feature- Mike Roy, Vince Jegtvig, Mike Bjorgan, Heather Crane, Blaise Deckert, Katie Ahrndt, Tanner Olson, Paul Colvin, Todd Gettel, Ron Olafson, Ken Crane

Heat 1- Jegtvig, Roy, Ahrndt, Olafson, Olson, K. Crane

Heat 2- H.Crane, Gettel, Colvin, Deckert, Bjorgan

Category: News - Headlines · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]