Lee Grosz Claims the Johnson’s Spray Service NOSA Sprint Car Special

Print Friendly
Share Button

Grosz Takes Sprint Car Special at Norman County Raceway

By Mike Spieker

Ada, MN (July 10) – The NOSA Outlaw Sprint Cars rumbled back to Norman County Raceway for their annual visit, presented by Johnson’s Spray Service and Legend Seed. As always, a great crowd packed the stands to see the winged warriors race which was won by Lee Grosz. In AMSOIL Dirt Track Series action, Tyler Hall and Alex Engelstad took the checkers.

A strong field of 19 NOSA Sprint Cars made up the grid for the  25 lap main event. When the race went green, Mark Dobmeier looked like he was going to run away with the feature as he had led laps two through 18. He had a commanding lead over the pack until his left rear tired exploded heading into turn one with seven laps remaining. The slowing Sioux Falls Ford #13DQ’D prompted a caution and Dobmeier was pushed back to the pit area to get his tired changed. While he was leading, Dobmeier had lapped up to eighth and that’s where he lined up for the ensuing restart.

As the race went back to green, Lee Grosz and Wade Nygaard began a heated battle for the lead as they traded slide jobs at both ends of the speedway and raced side by side, inches apart from each other on the straightaways. When it was all said and done, Grosz topped the past Norman County Raceway feature winner, Nygaard, to claim his first-ever win in Ada. Even more impressive was the fact that Grosz took the victory while running a 360 cubic inch engine under the hood against the 410 cubic inch touring series.

“I just knew I needed to get clear of (Nygaard) if I wanted to win,” Grosz said following the race. “I needed to get out by myself and run my line in clean air. They had an awesome track tonight. One of the raciest tracks I’ve been on this year.”

Dobmeier came flying through the field to finish in the runner up position, followed by Casey Mack, Wade Nygaard and Dave Glennon.

Tyler Hall, Midwest Modified winner.

Tyler Hall, Midwest Modified winner.

Jordan Wahl and Gannon Miller battled hard for the lead as the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature went green and they raced door to door until the caution flag flew on lap two. On the ensuing restart, Wahl got spun out in front of the entire field and collected the #4D of Rob VanMil. Wahl was able to continue to race while VanMil was forced to retire from the event. The race went back green once again and Wahl and Miller picked up where the left off in the fight for the lead. Miller finally cleared Wahl with just four laps to go, but he didn’t have time to relax once he got out front as Tyler Hall came into the picture and was right on his heels. Hall pulled along side Miller down the back stretch with two circuits remaining and dove low in turn three. The flagman showed the white flag as they came off of turn four. Hall found the grip on the bottom and rocketed to the lead as they crossed the line. Hall held off Miller on the final lap and picked up his first win at NCR since 2012.

“It feels amazing! There’s no better feeling,” said Hall after the race. “We were running in third there and we weren’t gaining anything, but we weren’t losing anything so I tried the fast lane around the bottom and the car stuck great. We hit the setup perfectly and I owe it all to my pit crew. It was an awesome night.”

Alex Engelstad, Wissota Modified winner.

Alex Engelstad, Wissota Modified winner.

Jamie Traunter led the opening lap of the WISSOTA Modified feature over Derek Velsedahl and Blake Jegtvig, but Jegtvig motored to the lead just two laps later. He would controlled the point until Beltrami, Minnesota’s Alex Engelstad maneuvered passed “The Jet” to take the lead. Engelstad paced the final 12 laps to park his #96 in KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane. Jegtvig came home in second followed by Rick Jacobson, Traunter, and Michael Greseth.

Rick Pavlicek of Casselton, ND took home the IMCA Sport Mod victory while Colton Schulz won in the NCR Trophy Class.

Racing resumes next Thursday night at Norman County Raceway with WISSOTA Modifieds, Midwest Modifieds, Mod Fours, IMCA Sport Mods and Pure Stocks. Green flag drops at 7:00pm.

Rich Pavlicek, IMCA Sport Mod winner.

Rich Pavlicek, IMCA Sport Mod winner.

Colton Schulz, NCR Trophy Class winner.

Colton Schulz, NCR Trophy Class winner.










WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature – Alex Engelstad, Blake Jegtvig, Rick Jacobson, Jamie Trautner, Michael Greseth, Paul Engelstad, Ross Romdalvik, Michael Johnson, Dev Malmlov, Brian Krog, Aaron Olson, Bryce Borgen, Tyler Hall, Brent Pulskamp, Jordan Wahl, Ryan Restad, Derek Velsedahl, Billy Vogel, Tanner Olson, Dustin Wahl, Corky Thomas, Justin Jones

Heat 1 – Trautner, A. Olson, Malmlov, Krog, Restad, T. Olson, Wahl, Thomas

Heat 2 – Johnson, Velsedahl, Vogel, Pulskamp, Romdalvik, J. Wahl, Jones

Heat 3 – A. Engelstad, Greseth, Jegtvig, Jacobson, P. Engelstad, Hall, Borgen

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature – Tyler Hall, Gannon Miller, Jordan Wahl, Dale Kraling, Rich Pavlicek, Rich Pavlicek, Skyler Smith, Andy Wagner, Rob VanMil, Allison Christian, Noah Metzger, Daniel Pederson, Michael Griffin

Heat 1 – Miller, VanMil, Griffin, Wahl, Metzger, Christian

Heat 2 – Kraling, Hall, Smith, Pavlicek, Pederson, Wagner

NOSA Sprint Cars:

Feature – Lee Grosz, Mark Dobmeier, Casey Mack, Wade Nygaard, Dave Glennon, Austin Pierce, Jordan Adams, Chris Shirek, Jade Hastings, Alex Larson, Ty Hanten, Nick Omdahl, Trent Stengl, Brenden Wilde, Zach Wilde, Jordan Graham, Thomas Kennedy, Amber Balcaen, Tanner Wisk

Heat 1 – Glennon, Nygaard, Z. Wilde, Graham, Hastings, Larson, Stengl

Heat 2 – Dobmeier, Shirek, B. Wilde, Balcaen, Hanten, Kennedy

Heat 3 – Mack, Grosz, Omdahl, Adams, Wisk, Pierce

IMCA Sport Mods

Feature – Rich Pavlicek, Jesse Skalicky, Robert Bladow, Tailin Tommerdahl, Patrick Brejcha, Steve Pavlicek, Kristine Berg, Andrew Maxwell, Cody Peterson

Heat 1 – Skalicky, Bladow, Tommerdahl, R. Pavlicek, Brejcha, Peterson, Maxwell, Berg, S. Pavlicek

NCR Trophy Cars/IMCA Sport Compacts:

Feature – Colton Schulz, Paul Colvin, Matt Beehler, Kalvin Kesselberg, Dylan Leroux, Adam Visser, Brad Arends, Sam Visser, Matt Hilton, Heather Crane, Demnis Hopper

Heat – Schulz, Beehler, Ahrndt, Hopper, Colvin, Kesselberg, Crane, Hilton, Arends, Leroux

Category: News, News - Featured, News - Headlines · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]