Kelly’s Chrysler Center Season Championship Night

Print Friendly
Share Button

Norman County Raceway wraps up year with Season Championship Night

By Mike Spieker

Ada, MN (August 29)- Norman County Raceway held its final Wissota AMSOIL Dirt Track Series race of the year last Thursday night. 71 cars made the trip to Ada for the Kelly’s Chrysler Center Season Championship.

Travis Saurer, Midwest Modified winner

Travis Saurer, Midwest Modified winner

The defending Midwest Modified track champion, Travis Saurer isn’t in the running for the points title this year at NCR, as he has only made six trips to3/8th mile track this season, but each time he has shown that he is still a force to be reckoned with.

Saurer started ninth in the 20 lap Northwest Truck & Trailer Midwest Modifieds feature, but that didn’t stop him from making a charge to the front. The race was halted on the third lap, however after the top two drivers in the points standings made contact in turn two. Tyler Peterson and Rich Pavlicek got together while racing for position in the top five. The contact sent Pavlicek off the banking on the back stretch and into the outside retaining wall. Pavlicek’s momentum then carried him back onto the speedway in front of the rest of the field where he was collected by three other machines that were unable to avoid him. The rough looking incident resulted with all of the drivers walking away unharmed.

Saurer continued his march forward on the next restart where he made a three wide pass for second with nine laps to go. From there he set his sights on Jamie Winterquist, and was able to maneuver around the yellow #12 and take the lead. Saurer put it on cruise control for the remaining circuits and picked up his class-leading fourth victory at NCR.

Tyler Peterson claimed the Midwest Modified track championship by 37 points over Casey Arneson and 54 points over Rich Pavlicek.

Rob VanMil, Mod Four winner

Rob VanMil, Mod Four winner

The battle between Troy Kuehl and the defending Mod Four track champion Rob VanMil in the Finley Motors Mod Four feature came down to the closest finish of the year. Kuehl had led the entire race up until VanMil got a run off the high side of turn four coming to the checkered flag. VanMil edged out Kuehl by a mere 0.046 seconds at the line, picking up his fifth NCR victory of the year.

VanMil also won the Mod Four points championship, finishing 14 markers over Aaron Wetterling, who was just one point ahead of Luke Johnson.

Katie Ahrndt grabbed her first feature win in the Trophy Class. Ken Crane finished second, Mike Roy came home third and claimed the points championship for he and co-driver/wife, Stacey Pederson-Roy.

The wild and crazy Pure Stock feature wasn’t decided until the checkered flag flew. Ken Crane got by leader Dean Lundon on the last lap in turn four after the two made contact with each other. Crane and Tim Shiek then got together down the front straightaway and the two drivers traded paint all the way to the line with Crane taking the win.

Paul Colvin was declared the 2013 Pure Stock champion, Crane came up nine points shy.

Adam Burrows started on the pole and led every lap en route to his TDS Trucking WISSOTA Street Stocks feature win. Jim Geringer finished second, James Tandeski was third, and 2013 Street Stock track champion Ryan Pommerer was fourth.


For the first half of the Christian Brother’s Ford WISSOTA Modified feature, it looked as though Corky Thomas of Fargo, ND might break

Mike Stearns picks up win #21

Mike Stearns picks up win #21

through on the season finale and visit KRJB/KRJM Victory Lane for the first time of the year. But he had one major obstacle to overcome; the current WISSOTA Modified nation point leader, Mike Stearns. Stearns came from fifth to second in just two laps and a lap three caution put him right on the rear bumper of Thomas. On the restart Stearns shot to the high side of turns one and two and pulled even with the Miller Lite #6T, but Thomas had his car hooked up in the middle of the track and launched off the corner, regaining the lead. The two drivers battled back like this for the next six laps before Stearns finally prevailed on the cushion of turn two and never looked back. Stearns cruised to his 21st feature win of the season, Thomas brought it home second, followed by Jamie Trautner, Dev Malmlov, and Austin Arneson.

Cody Skytland is the NCR Modified Track Champion, he finished the season with 489 points; 43 ahead of second place Bryce Borgen.

Norman County Raceway would like to thank all of its great fans, sponsors, and drivers for the wonderful year and look forward to an even better 2014 season!




Feature- Mike Stearns, Corky Thomas, Jamie Trautner, Dev Malmlov, Austin Arneson, Travis Saurer, Justin Jones, Cody Skytland, Michael Johnson, Rick Jacobson, Bryce Borgen, Casey Arneson, Michael Johnson, Rick Jacobson, Bryce Borgen Casey Arneson, Michael Greseth, Paul Engelstad, Jordan Wahl, Jake Bitker, Tanner Olson, Alex Engelstad, Cody Erickson

Heat 1- Stearns, Thomas, Saurer, Bitker, Johnson, Wahl, Olson

Heat 2- A. Arneson, J. Trautner, Greseth, Jones, P. Engelstad, Erickson

Heat 3- Malmlov, Jacobson, Borgen, C. Arneson, A. Englestad, Skytland

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature- Travis Saurer, Jamie Winterquist, Tyler Hall, Rob VanMil, Tyler Peterson, Christopher Christian, Gannon Miller, Ryan Oppegaard, Allison Christian, Matt Schow, Robert Bladow, Aaron Vigness, Andy Wagner, Brandon Gussiaas, Noah Metzger, Casey Arneson, Rich Pavlicek

Heat 1- R. VanMil, Pavlicek, C. Christian, Gussiaas, Vigness, Bladow

Heat 2- Winterquist, Miller, Schow, A. Christian, Oppegaard, Metzger

Heat 3- Saurer, Peterson, C. Arneson, Hall, Wagner

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature- Adam Burrows, Jim Geringer, James Tandeski, Ryan Pommerer, Durand Peterson, Rick Schulz, Trent Grager

Heat- Grager, Tandeski, Schulz, Burrows, Geringer, Pommerer, Peterson


Feature- Rob VanMil, Troy Kuehl, Aaron Wetterling, Luke Johnson, Corry VanMil, Bryce Bjerken, Fran Hauber

Heat- Johnson, Kuehl, R. VanMil, Wetterlin, Bjerken, C. VanMil, Hauber, Gordon

Pure Stocks:

Feature- Ken Crane, Tim Shiek, Dean Lundon, Taylor Saari, Paul Colvin, Jeremy Anderson, Wade Moerke, Mike Bjorgan

Heat- Lundon, Shiek, Moerke, Crane, Colvin, Saari, Anderson, Bjorgan

Trophy Class:

Feature- Katie Ahrndt, Ken Crane, Mike Roy, Colton Schulz, Ben Purrington, Kalvin Kesselbe, Adam Visser, Ross Rohrer, Michael Urbashich, Ryan Schow, Todd Gettel, Anna Kaste

Heat 1- Gettel, Roy, Purrington, Kesselbe, Rohrer

Heat 2- Schow, Schulz, Crane, Ahrndt, Visser, Kaste

Category: News, News - Featured · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]