Johnson Wins Late Model Special

Print Friendly
Share Button

Z. Johnson Dominates NLRA Special at Norman County Raceway

By Mike Spieker

Ada, MN (June 19)- The 118th running of the Norman County Fair got started off in a big way as the NLRA/WISSOTA  Late Models rolled into town for their first visit of the year. Another great car count brought in an even better crowd for the Wednesday night

Zach Johnson winner of Late Model feature

Zach Johnson winner of Late Model feature

AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Special.

Things heated up quick in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature. Scott Bintz grabbed the early lead from the follow, but was closely followed by Rich Pavilcek and last week’s winner, Tyler Peterson. Jason Strand was looking to join in on the battle for the lead too. He started in the eighth position and flew up to fourth in only two laps making it a four car breakaway up front. A spin on lap five brought out the caution bunched the field up even more. On the restart Pavlicek and Peterson pulled alongside Bintz in the first corner making it three wide for the point. Bintz was able to hold off the charge. Bintz wasn’t able to enjoy his comfortable lead for very long, however as Peterson had reeled in the Jamestown, ND driver. Peterson was finessing his car around the bottom while Bintz was cruising up around the high side. It was clear that Peterson had the faster car, but he just couldn’t quite close the door on Bintz and complete the pass. Finally with eight laps to go, Peterson was able slide up and steal the lead coming off of turn four. He quickly pulled out to a 10 car length advantage and took home his second victory in a row at NCR.

Dexter Dvergsten held off Trent Stengl in the Lighting Sprints feature, while Robert Bladow topped Ken Crane in the Pure Stocks. Jim Geringer was victorious in the small, yet extremely competitive field of WISSOTA Street Stocks. Ryan Pommerer finished behind Geringer, followed by Adam Burrows, James Tandeski, and Rick Schulz in the top five.

The Late Model A-main featured 28 cars for 30 laps with a pair of two time WISSOTA Late Model National Champions on the front row. Zach Johnson and Ricky Weiss led the field to the green with Johnson piloting his way to the lead off of turn two. Within five laps, Johnson had a full straightaway advantage over second place Cody Skytland. Nobody even came close to Johnson until the lap eight restart where Weiss was able to pull up to the door panel of Johnson on the high side of the first turn. That battle was short lived Johnson found another gear and drove off into the sunset to claim the victory. Dustin Strand finished runner up, with Weiss, Brad Seng, and five time World of Outlaw Sprint Car champion Donny Schatz rounding out the top five.



Feature-  Zach Johnson, Dustin Strand, Ricky Weiss, Brad Seng, Donny Schatz, Bryan Kakela, Mike Balcaen, Bill Mooney, Jeff Provinzino, Brian Bernotas, Troy Schill, Zach Wohlers, Steve Anderson, Steven Grabow, Jeff Hapala, Jason Grabow, Cole Schill, Billy Michaelsohn, Joey Pederson, Jake Bitker, Seffen Snare, Shane Edginton, Brian Strand, Michael Johnson, Josh Johnson, Tom Corcoran, Norman Olson, Dusty Peterson

Heat 1- Seng, Schatz, Corcoran, J. Grabow, Wohlers, M. Johnson, Snare

Heat 2- Z. Johnson, D. Strand, Provinzino, T. Schill, Hapala, J. Johnson, Olson

Heat 3- Skytland, Pederson, Balcaen, S. Grabow, B. Strand, Anderson, C. Schill

Heat 4- Weiss, Edginton, Bernotas, Mooney, Michaelsohn, Peterson, Bitker

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:

Feature- Tyler Peterson, Scott Bintz, Jason Strand, Rich Pavlicek, Casey Arneson, Christopher Christian, Rob VanMil, Doyle Erickson, Tyler Hall, Cole Haugland, Jamie Winterquist, Andy Wagner, Bryan Kakela, Gannon Miller, Eric Haugland, Mike Anderson, Rick Hamel, Allison Christian, Kevin Forest, Darin Smith, Matt Schow, Zach Reinke

Heat 1- C. Haugland, C. Christian, Arneson, Wagner, Schow, Reinke

Heat 2- Winterquist, Pavlicek, Forest, Anderson, Hall, A. Christian

Heat 3- Peterson, Strand, Kakela, VanMil, E. Haugland

Heat 4- Bintz, Erickson, Smith, Hamel, Miller

WISSOTA Street Stocks:

Feature- Jim Geringer, Ryan Pommerer, Adam Burrows, James Tandeski, Rick Schulz, Jordan Duray, Aaron Blacklance

Heat- Pommerer, Geringer, Burrows, Duray, Tandeski, Schulz, Blacklance

Pure Stocks:

Feature- Robert Bladow, Ken Crane, Paul Colvin, Taylor Saari, Jeremy MacAdams, Wade Moerke, Mike Bjorgan, Rich Peterson

Heat- Bladow, Moerke, Colvin, Crane, Bjorgan, MacAdams, Saari, Peterson

Category: News - Headlines · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]