Arneson Wins Sander’s Mod Challenge

Print Friendly
Share Button

Arnenson Captures Sander’s Mod Challenges at Norman Cty. Raceway
By Mike Spieker
ADA, MN (August 14) – On a night that featured the biggest WISSOTA Modified race in Norman County Raceway’s history, the Midwest Modified and Street Stock features surprisingly stole the show. AMSOIL Dirt Track Series winners included Austin Arneson, Dale Kraling, Travis Robertson, and Rob VanMil.
The field of 35 Modifieds was trimmed down to the fastest 24 and a random draw that put a driver that failed transfer out of the B-main into the 25th starting spot for the 35 lap, $2,500-to-win Sander’s Modified Challenge. Dano Ostrander and Austin Arneson led the incredibly stout field to the green flag. Arneson jumped out to the lead on the high side and led the opening lap. Jason Thoennes maneuvered around Ostrander and moved into the second spot right behind Arneson on the opening lap as well. Once out front, Arneson proved that he was the class of the field as the top drivers in WISSOTA weren’t able to keep up with the U Motors #10, let alone make a bid for the lead. Arneson survived a couple late race cautions and picked up the Mod Challenge victory in dominating fashion as he led all 35 circuits. Thoennes had to settle for second, while Dustin Strand, Jason Grimes, and Cody Skytland rounded out the top five. Michael Johnson collected the hard charger bonus as he wheeled his Performance Auto #84 machine from 23th to 14th.
The Northwest Truck & Trailer WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were 21 cars strong for their 18 lap feature. Rich Pavlicek and Matt Schow made up the front row and Schow took the early lead as the race went green. By lap three, Dale Kraling had made his presence known as he drove from ninth and passed Pavlicek for second. The caution flew on lap four, and when the race resumed, Pavlicek got a great jump and moved back into the runner up position. The yellow flag was display once again, however, and the black flag was unfurled in the direction of Pavlicek for brake-checking on the restart. The green flag was displayed once again and Kraling had his hands full with Logan Salazar in the battle for second. The two drivers raced side by side for four consecutive laps before Kraling was able to reclaim the spot. Kraling then set his sights on Schow’s #2S. With three laps to go, Schow’s lead was shrinking dramatically as Kraling was hooked up on the bottom. They white flag flew and Kraling was right on Schow’s rear nurf bar. They headed into turn one and Kraling gave Schow a little tap, but Schow kept his composure and held the lead. The two drivers flew down the backstretch and into turn three for the final time where the two drivers made contact again, a little harder this time, and that opened up the door for the Mayville, ND driver. Kraling peaked his nose underneath Schow and they bumped one more time and drag raced to the finish line. When they crossed the checkers Kraling edged out Schow by the narrowest of margins for his second NCR feature win of the year and fourth overall.
“That last lap got interesting. We came into (turns) one and two and Schow got into me a little bit and I pushed back a little bit and we both missed the groove,” said Kraling after his win. “Then it was a drag race down the back(stretch)….and he came in a little higher than I did and he left the door open just a hair. We bumped a little bit and I hit the tack strip and it was over after that.”
Not to be outdone, the TDS Trucking WISSOTA Street Stocks put on an exciting finish of their own during their main event. Heath Corneliusen got out to the early lead, but slid off the turn three banking on lap three and brought out the yellow. On the restart, Travis Robertson, Ryan Pommerer and Ryan Satter went three wide for the top spot for four consecutive laps around the three-eighth mile oval. Robertson was the driver that came out on top, but the race was far from over. The white flag flew and Satter was all over Robertson. They went down the back stretch and Satter threw his #67 to the low side of turn three to attempt what looked like an Eldora slide job. Satter was able to pull even with Robertson, but he left a lane open and Robertson powered back by on the high side for his second NCR feature win of 2014.
The two-time WISSOTA Mod Four national champion, Rob VanMil, collected feature win #28 in the Finley Motors Mod Fours. VanMil stole the lead away from his father, Corry, with seven laps remaining and went on to take the win. Corry VanMil held on to finish second, followed by Luke Johnson, Byrce Bjerken and Aaron Wetterlin.
Paul Colvin put an end to Kelly Jacobson’s dominance at NCR as he picked up the Pure Stock win. Jacobson finished second followed by Doug Gardner.

WISSOTA Modifieds:
Feature – Austin Arneson, Jason Thoennes, Dustin Strand, Jason Grimes, Cody Skytland, Corky Thomas, Alex Englestad, Aaron Holtan, Blake Jegtvig, Matt Gilbertson, John Nord, Scot Danzeisen, Michael Greseth, Michael Johnson, Bryce Borgen, Aaron Olson, Dano Ostrander, Jeremy Nelson, Dev Malmlov, Jeremy Keller, Jamie Trautner, Mark Trautner, Rusty Kollman, Casey Arneson, Donald Eischen
B Feature – Keller, Nelson, Trautner, Kollman, Brennan Borg, Brent Pulskamp, Cory Tammen, Shaun Peterson, Dustin Wahl, Billy Vogel, Tyler Hall, Tanner Olson, Derek Vesledahl, Tim Thomas
Heat 1 – Holtan, Thoennes, Eischens, Jegtvig, C. Arneson, Keller, Nelson, Pulskamp, T. Thomas
Heat 2 – Strand, A. Arneson, Skytland, Danzeisen, Gilbertson, Kollman, Vogel, T. Olson, Tammen
Heat 3 – Ostrander, Engelstad, Borgen, Malmlov, J. Trautner, Wahl, Johnson, M. Trautner, Peterson
Heat 4 – Grimes, C. Thomas, A. Olson, Nord, Greseth, Borg, Hall, Vesledahl
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds:
Feature – Dale Kraling, Matt Schow, Logan Salazar, Chris Christian, Tyler Hall, Randy Kollman, Billy Kendall, Jamie Winterquist, Gannon Miller, Andy Wagner, Reise Stenberg, Ryan Schow, Ross Nygren, Allison Christian, Steve Hougard, Nick Pederson, Rob VanMil, Zach Bruer, Tyler Peterson, Noah Metzger
Heat 1 – Pavlicek, M. Schow, Winterquist, Stenberg, Hougard, Pederson, Peterson
Heat 2 – Kraling, VanMil, Miller, Wagner, Nygren, C. Chrstian, A. Christain
Heat 3 – Kollman, Hall, Salazar, R. Schow, Bruer, Kendall, Metzger
WISSOTA Street Stocks:
Feature – Travis Robertson, Ryan Satter, James Tandeski, Ryan Pommerer, Ryan Johnson, Rick Schulz, Jim Geringer, Jordan Duray, Heath Corneliusen, Adam Burrows
Heat 1 – Pommerer, Tandeski, Corneliusen, Robertson, Johnson
Heat 2 – Satter, Duray, Burrows, Schulz, Geringer
WISSOTA Mod Fours:
Feature – Rob VanMil, Corry VanMil, Luke Johnson, Bryce Bjerken, Aaron Wetterlin, Jim Erdmann, Brandon Ferris, Payton Gordon, Greg Schilling
Heat – R. VanMil, C. VanMil, Johnson, Bjerken, Wetterlin, Erdmann, Ferris, Schilling, Gordon
NCR Pure Stocks:
Feature – Paul Colvin, Kelly Jacobson, Doug Gardner, Ken Crane, Wade Moerke, Kristen Nelson, Tim Shiek, Taylor Saari, Matt Beehler, Vince Jegtvig
Heat – Kristen Nelson, Ken Crane, Kelly Jacobson, Tim Shiek, Paul Colvin, Wade Moerke, Doug Gardner, Taylor Saari, Matt Beehler

Category: News, News - Featured · Tags:


Share Button
Print Friendly

2017 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE Start Time: 7:00pm Weekly Classes: IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Mods April Thursday, April 27 – Test & Tune (6pm – 9pm) May Thursday, May 4 – INEX Legends Thursday, May 11 – IMCA Hobby Stocks Thursday, May 18 – INEX Legends June Thursday, June 1 – IMCA […]


Share Button
Print Friendly

To view pictures from each week, click on:


Share Button
Print Friendly

Norman County Raceway tickets are ON SALE NOW! Don’t want to stand in line waiting to pay? Use your phone or your computer to purchase a ticket to the next race. You’ll have the choice of printing out the ticket at home or sending the ticket to your phone. Then just walk right up to the […]